Gluten Free Diet is not enough!!!

Gluten Free Diet is not enough!!!

For so many people who suffer from celiac disease (and really any autoimmune disease) where gluten has become poison to your body, everything changes. The way that you look at food, the way that you shop, the way that you cook, the way that you interact with friends and family, and for some of us who we are.

Who we are because celiac disease robs us of our spontaneity.  In many cases celiac disease changes us and we are always on guard. It’s really hard for a celiac to truly relax and enjoy ourself. Plans becomes a challenge because we never know how we will feel in advance. Which only leads to anxiety and prayer that when the day comes we will be able to follow through and not disappoint others as well as ourself.

Disappoint your friends and family enough leads them to question your relationship. Disappoint yourself enough and you lose faith in you, because when you stop following through on your commitments and promises, even though with everything in your heart you wish you could be there, enjoying the moment, it chips away at who you are.

Celiac disease changes us. Changes us to our very core

Read More

Where is gluten hiding?

Where is gluten hiding?

Yeah sure if you have celiac disease or are severely gluten sensitive we all know to avoid the usual suspects like bread, breadcrumbs, cakes, cookies, pastries, donuts, wheat, barley, and rye but where else does gluten hide? Where else might gluten be lurking in your food? 

Staying gluten-free is critical to your health so it is important to find the hidden places where you might be surprised to find have wheat, wheat starch and gluten added. 

1. Oats 

Yes oats in nature are gluten free however it is how and where they are grown and how they are processed that becomes the problem. Most oats are processed along with wheat and flour therefore making cross-contamination very likely. Sometimes the oats are stored in silos that are also used to store other grains. So unless they are clearly marked as Certified Gluten Free Oats meaning they were grown, processed and stored safely stay clear of them.

2. Chewing Gum 

Believe it or not some brands of gum are not even safe because they use a gluten-based powder to keep the gum from sticking to the wrapper. It is crucial to double check the ingredient list here because not all gum is created equal in a celiacs world.

Read More